Back to List

Roni Horn: Mother, Wonder (Ísland (Iceland): To Place 11) [SIGNED]

Publisher: Göttingen, Germany: Steidl Verlag, 2023
Edition: 1st Edition
Binding: Hardcover
ISBN: 9783969991855
Condition: New / No dust jacket as issued
Item #: 113991



First edition, first printing. Signed and dated ("2023") in graphite on the half-title page by Horn. Hardcover. Fine linen cloth with embossed title, no dust jacket as issued. Photographs by Roni Horn. 80 pp., with 62 four-color plates, beautifully printed on heavy fine matte art paper by Steidl Verlag. 10-1/2 x 8-3/8 inches.

To Place Series cited in Andrew Roth, ed., The Open Book. (Göteborg, Sweden: Hasselblad Center in association with Steidl Verlag, Göttingen, Germany, 2004), and in Martin Parr and Gerry Badger, The Photobook: A History, Volume II. (London and New York: Phaidon, 2006).]


New in publisher's shrink-wrap (slit open for signature).


This is the eleventh volume in the series of the work, To Place. To Place is an ongoing series of publications. Each volume is a unique dialogue addressing the relationship between identity and place. The books take as their starting point Iceland and the evolving experiences of the artist in this country.

From the publisher: "In the south of Iceland is Landbrot, whose geologic particulars present a unique landscape. It is a place closer to fairy tales than to science, indeed a place easy to imagine as the singular source of fairies and elves worldwide. It is easy, too, to imagine the sensual comfort and satisfaction to be found there. Mother, Wonder is the eleventh book in Horn’s ongoing series “To Place,” which she initiated in 1989 and exists only in book form. All the volumes focus on Iceland and the evolving experiences of the artist there; together they form a flowing dialogue addressing the relationship between identity and place. The titles to date in the coveted “To Place” encyclopedia are Bluff Life (1990), Folds (1991), Lava (1992), Pooling Waters (1994), Verne’s Journey (1995), Haraldsdóttir (1996), Arctic Circles (1998), Becoming a Landscape (2001), Doubt Box (2006) and Haraldsdóttir, Part Two (2011)."

From Roni Horn (in a 1995 interview with Claudia Spinelli): Spinelli: "Compared to your installations, looking at and reading books is a very private way of confrontation..." Horn: "It's very intimate. A book is really a sensual, if not sexual experience and I use these books to focus people in this very intimate one-on-one relationship. The book can become a kind of mirror. The book has an inside and an outside. (A lot of things don't have that. They have only outsides; images for example.) And then you enter it and it has a fixed sequence. It has a before and an after, there is a narrative implicit in it. So all that is part of the structure that I'm using. I'm working on the sixth volume now which is completely different again. It focuses on one woman, exclusively. It's about the face as place. It's a sequence of very tight head shots. I was photographing Margrét outdoors and in water. The water and the weather became very important as the visual context. Water and weather are dominant phenomena in Iceland. So we would travel and I would photograph her in the water and in the weather. It was a very simple relationship: I didn't tell her to do anything, she would just get into the water and I would photograph her. In the sunlight and with the clouds under the open, forceful sky--the water was all around her, on her, and in her hair, and in the air as well."

Horn: "The entrance to all my work is the idea of an encyclopedia of identity. It is best represented by the books, the series called To Place, which is extremely important to me. I have been working on this since 1988. It's really the heart. It is a series of books, each one of which adds to the whole in a way that alters the identity of it retroactively. So the first volume appears to be a book of drawings. The second book was about a completely different subject but in the same format. With the third volume people start to realize something: 'Well, this looks like a series, so there must be some relationship. But I haven't a clue as to what it is.' Then there was the fourth volume, with texts and photographs. The books are this very slow process of accumulation in the period of a life, my life."