Back to List

William Eggleston: The Democratic Forest (Ten Volume Set)

Publisher: Göttingen, Germany: Steidl Verlag, 2015
Edition: 1st Edition
Binding: Hardcover
ISBN: 9783869307923
Condition: New / No dust jacket as issued
Item #: 112111



Price is net to all; promotional discounts do not apply.

SPECIAL ORDER. PRICING & AVAILABILITY SUBJECT TO CHANGE. Price is net to all; promotional discounts do not apply.

SHIPPING NOTE: Due to size and weight (e.g., multi-volume sets), additional shipping fees apply (calculated at checkout).

First edition, first printing. Ten volumes sharing the following format: Hardcover. Photographically illustrated cloth-covered boards; no dust jacket as issued; contained in a custom slipcase. Photographs by William Eggleston. Edited by Mark Holborn and William Eggleston. Introduction by Mark Holborn. Essay by Eudora Welty. 1328 pp., with 1010 four-color plates. 12-3/4 x 12-1/2 inches.


New in publisher's packaging.


From the publisher: "Following the publication of Chromes in 2011 and Los Alamos Revisited in 2012, Steidl's reassessment of Eggleston's career continues with the publication of The Democratic Forest, his most ambitious project. This ten-volume set, containing more than 1,000 photographs, is drawn from a body of 12,000 pictures made by Eggleston in the 1980s. Following an opening volume of work in Louisiana, the ensuing volumes cover Eggleston's travels from his familiar ground in Memphis and Tennessee out to Dallas, Pittsburgh, Miami and Boston, the pastures of Kentucky and as far as the Berlin Wall. The final volume leads the viewer back to the South of small towns, cotton fields, the Civil War battlefield of Shiloh and the home of Andrew Jackson in Tennessee.

The "democratic" in Eggleston's title refers to a democracy of vision, through which the most mundane subjects are represented with the same complexity and significance as the most elevated. This work has rarely been shown and only a fraction of the entire oeuvre has ever been published; the exhaustive editing process has taken over three years. This gorgeous set includes a new introduction by Mark Holborn and the republication of Eudora Welty's original essay on the work."